You can use the Clear Database dialog box to clear certain aspects of the built database so that corrections can be made. Clearing a database is an extreme measure that you should only perform when absolutely necessary. We strongly recommend that you back up a database before you clear it. Due to the method used by Alchemy Web to add items to databases, we recommend that you do not clear the build on a database into which items have been added through Alchemy Web; instead, use the Copy/ Move function. Note: You cannot clear the index in databases under Library Services control or that have documents de-clared as records. 1.
Locating the Clear Database option
Using an Administrator’s License select File > Clear Database.
Clearing a Built Alchemy Database – Options
Clear index: Select this check box to delete the index file but keep the profile information. This option is commonly used if you want to make changes to the indexing methods or stop list. The status of the files is not changed and it does not matter if the files have been renamed or moved on your hard drive. To rebuild a database whose index has been cleared, Alchemy must have access to the entire data container file through either a local or network drive.
Clear builds: Changes the status of all documents to unbuilt. The index file is deleted, but the profile information remains intact. The files in the database return to being only pointers to their original files, just as they were when they were first imported into the database. This is only calculated for databases that reside on a hard drive, and not for databases on removable media. Notes: Clearing the builds on a database that contains Alchemy DataGrabber records does not retain custom profile information, and you must delete Alchemy DataGrabber documents, or you will duplicate documents if and when you rerun Alchemy DataGrabber. After you delete the Alchemy DataGrabber files, you must rerun Alchemy DataGrabber to reimport the files and custom profile information. For databases that only contain documents added with Alchemy DataGrabber, use the Clear documents option to clear the builds, and then rerun Alchemy DataGrabber. For databases that contain documents added with any combination of methods, use the Clear builds option to clear the builds, delete all the documents added with Alchemy DataGrabber, rerun Alchemy DataGrabber, and then rebuild the database. CAUTION: When you clear the build for a database, the source files must exist in the same location as when you originally created the database. If the source files no longer exist, or you moved them since the original build, you will be unable to rebuild the database after you clear the build.
Clear documents: All documents within all folders are deleted. Since there are no files, the profiles and index are also deleted. Only the folders remain. This is commonly used to make significant changes to the contents of the database. This is the same as creating a clone of an existing database. If the database contains images scanned using Alchemy Scan, not only are the images in your database deleted, but the images folder on your hard drive is also deleted. Note: After you use the Clear documents option or the Clear folders option, you cannot recover the deleted images. If you want to keep images, you must copy the images folder to another location before you clear the database.
Clear folders: All folders and documents are deleted. The only thing that remains are modifications to the fields, profiles, and the stop list. This is commonly used when you want to recreate the contents of a database without having to recreate modifications to the database design features. As with Clear documents, this option also clears all images scanned with Alchemy Scan from the hard drive.
Click OK to clear the database.